Ministry of Spontaneous Composition

CD Review: Ministry of Spontaneous Composition

In CD Reviews, Resources by jan_mfp

Ministry of Spontaneous CompositionMinistry of Spontaneous Composition is comprised of free jazz explorations from members of the DC Improvisers Collective. These steller musicians Patrick Whitehead (trumpet and MfP member), Ben Azarra (drums), John Kammon (guitar), Jonathan Morris (keyboard) and Ben Redwine (clarinet) created the entire CD in the moment. There is deep listening amongst the members as moods are created through pulse, tempo, silence, timbre and textures. The interweaving of these elements create interest for the listener as each member goes in and out allowing changes to morph from tension to release. Ministry of Spontaneous Composition can be purchased at and iTunes.

Reviewed by Lynn Miller

About the Recording Artist

Read more about Patrick Whitehead’s music.